h1

A bit of rearranging

December 31, 2008

4 years ago when we moved here I created some veg beds in the garden. Since then, life has changed a lot (something I’ve only really realised very recently) and they’re no longer fit for purpose.

For example, we got a dog, so the whole area was fenced to keep it dog free. Then I took an allotment style agreement with a local landowner so I could grow more veg than I had space for at home. Then I decided that was taking all my time and I was neglecting the garden, so I decided to bring it all back “in-house”. But now we have chickens – who free-range in the veg growing area –  this year’s crops had to be truss up like Fort Knox. In other words crops were planted then heavily protected from the beaked foragers which meant they were impossible to properly weed without a major Bear Grylls-style expedition. That said, the chooks did appear to have great fun sitting on top of Fort Knox, crowing loudly and playing the chicken version of I’m the King of the Castle!

So, I’ve had a bit of a rethink, and now the 3 beds are becoming one. The “veg bed” will have internal paths, so i can still practice a part no-dig, part layer mulch and part “regular” gardening arrangement (as that appears to be working well for me) and the whole area will be fenced to prevent raiding parties – I have large fowl who shy away from the tiresome exercise of flying.

So, that’s the plan – watch this space…

One comment

  1. I know what you mean about Fort Knox. Just when I think I have managed to secure my veg, the little rascal find a new entrance way and that’s that. I did grow to large purple Kale this year though.



Leave a comment